Visa-free regulation for Georgian citizens signed in Brussels" />

Visa-free regime for Georgia will come into force until the end of March

Visa-free regulation for Georgian citizens signed in Brussels

The  regulation allowing Georgian citizens short trips to the Shenghen zone countries was signed during a solemn ceremony in Brussels. The document was signed by the European Parliament president Antonio Tayani and Chris Atius, the parliament secretary of Malta, the acting EU chairman.

The ceremony was attended by the Georgian government delegation headed by Georgi Kvirikashvili.

In cause of few days the regulation is due to be published in the EU legislative journal, and then the visa-free regime comes into force automatically in the cause of 20 days.

Who is eligible for visa-free travels, and what is the procedure?

  • Georgian citizens have a right to travel to Shenghen zone countries (including the candidates – Romania, Croatia, Bulgaria and Cyprus) without a visa for up to 90 days out of 180 and also travel from one Shenghen country to another
  • Those who excess the 90 days limit will be detained, deported to Georgia and stripped of the right to travel visa-free for the next 5 years
  • In order to travel visa-free a Georgian citizen must possess biometric passport, hotel booking, return ticket and proof of financial security, to be produced when crossing the border
  • For long term and educational visas the Georgian citizens must as before turn to a consulate

Reasons to put visa-free regime on hold

  • Incase Georgia refuses readmission (denying entrance of those, who came to the EU from Georgia and was deported)
  • In case of substantial growth of the refugee status aspirants
  • In case of illegal influx substantial growth

More on JAMnews