98 years have passed since the capture of Tbilisi by the Red Army" />

Georgia marks Day of Soviet Occupation

98 years have passed since the capture of Tbilisi by the Red Army

Ninety-eight years have passed since the Red Army’s capture of Tbilisi and the subsequent establishment of Soviet authority in Georgia.

The Red Army invaded Georgia on 15 February 1921. Ten days later on 25 February and after heavy fighting, the 11th division of the Soviet army entered Tbilisi, and Soviet rule was announced.

The Menshevik government of the Democratic Republic of Georgia continued to resist even after the fall of the capital and left the country only on 17 March. From that moment, the independent Democratic Republic of Georgia, which had existed for less than three years, ceased to be.

What Azerbaijan, Armenia and Georgia did 100 years ago when they became independent republics

The 25th of February has been marked annually since 1991.

Events dedicated to the memory of those killed in 1921 will take place in Tbilisi today, as well as in the Kojori and Tabakhmela suburbs of the capital, where the heaviest fighting took place.

The Democratic Republic of Georgia

Soviet authority, established in Russia after the 1917 revolution, was not recognized by influential Georgian political and intellectual circles.

The first national congress was held in Tbilisi on 19 November 1917 at which the National Council of Georgia was elected – that is, the actual government.

Almost half a year later on 26 May 1918, the Act of Independence was promulgated and adopted, and thus the Democratic Republic of Georgia was born.

Read more about the first Georgian republic here.

More on JAMnews